RSS

What do people without animals do for entertainment?

07 Jan

No really! I mean, 90% of my funny stories involve my critters. There’s the dogs, who just 20 minutes ago went running and barking to the window when a strange voice came from the computer. The twenty pound cat who thinks the four pound dog exists for his amusement. The bird that wakes me up in the morning and goes through separation anxiety when my brother leaves after a visit. The horse that offers his tricks whether I ask for them or not.

The other day at work I was regaling my co-workers  (whether they liked it or not) about my theory that Timmy, the chihuahua, thinks “watching the hockey game” means we all sit in the living room and randomly yell at each other. One day I watched by myself and he jumped when I yelled, and gave me a look like, “what’d I do!”  One of my co-workers laughed and said, “I wish I had a dog to jump when I yelled.” She said her husband was against having a house pet, because he was the house cleaner.

I see his point. I never go out without miscellaneous animal hair stuck to my clothes. Occasionally, I’m even embarrassed by this fact. But really, what do they do for entertainment? I mean, there’s books and tv – and I’m a big fan of both – but they don’t hold a candle to a no holds barred battle between our ginormous cat and our rottie cross. The cat always wins. Sometimes, he even makes the dog cry. But then he licks her and they’re best friends again. You can’t buy that kind of entertainment.

And the bird. Okay, so he drives me CRAZY when he squawks incessantly for NO REASON, but when someone screams on tv, and he immediately busts out the maniacal laughter … well, that’s just funny. Or when he whistles the charge and then flies at my head; after I’m done ducking and screaming, it’s really quite amusing.

So yeah … there’s litter boxes and feathers and pet hair and chihuahua pee paper to deal with. (Hey, he’s less than FOUR POUNDS, it’s not like he’s going to go outside to pee!) Not to mention vet bills and worry, and your heart breaking when you lose a fur-child. But anyone who’s ever been loved by an animal can tell you … every little bit of trouble is worth it!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 7, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “What do people without animals do for entertainment?

  1. Jennifer

    January 7, 2011 at 10:18 am

    I am nearly always amused by my critters! I’m also a big fan of the unconditional love. Pug hugs are the best way to spend a break from working.

     

Leave a Reply

 
