RSS

Louis L’amour

31 Jan

I started reading my Grandad’s Louis L’amour books when I was a little girl. The very first conversation I had with my best friend of the past 17 (!) years was about Louis L’amour books. When I was in high school (grade 10 maybe? It was a long time ago.) we had an English assignment to do a report on our favorite book that would convince others to read it.

I chose The Daybreakers by Louis L’amour.

I figured it was a book anyone would enjoy … still do!  It’s got excitement and danger, romance and humour. I love the part where Dru kisses Tye for the first time and he walks into a tree. Then the bad guy comes at him with a knife.

Louis L’amour was a great storyteller, and I’ve been known to disagree strongly with those who say different. I went into a local used book store, delighted to find a whole rack of Louis L’amour books for only 75 cents each. I was trying to find one’s that I hadn’t read before, and made some comment that it didn’t really matter, meaning that even if I’d read them before, I knew I’d enjoy them again – especially at that price! The lady in the store interpreted my comment differently, and replied, “Yeah, I’ve heard they’re all pretty much the same.”  I was so disappointed in her narrow-minded viewpoint that I didn’t go back for months.

I particularly enjoy the Sackett books. I love the idea that when one Sackett is in trouble, they all come running. One of my very favorite’s is Lonely On The Mountain, when Logan Sackett sends a letter saying he’s in trouble and needs a herd of cattle delivered to the gold mines of British Columbia and his cousins strike out with a herd, headed across the Canadian wilderness to try to get there in time.

That’s the era of Sacketts I enjoy the most. Tyrel, Orrin and Tell and cousins Flagan and Galloway from the hills of Tennessee, Logan and Nolan, from the wild Clinch Mountain Sacketts, and an occasional appearance by Parmalee, a Flat-land Sackett.  Though I do have a soft spot for Echo Sackett, a generation earlier, and her story from Ride The River. I hope that my character, Adelaide, shares her independence and gumption!

There are other, non-Sackett L’amours that I love. Conagher is one of my favorite love stories of all time, and every time I read it I’m annoyed that the back cover copy never mentions the romance at all. The notes tied to the tumbleweeds!  I’m also a huge fan of the four Hopalong Cassidy novels.

I’ve never found another Western author that I enjoy quite as much … but that hasn’t kept me from looking and reading a lot of great Westerns along the way!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 31, 2011 in reading, writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Louis L’amour

  1. luckson mutiwekuziwa

    February 20, 2014 at 5:53 am

    Hi. Hope you get to see this, seeing as you article is from a coupla years ago. I am 33 and have been reading Louis L’amour since i was 13. I have read hundreds of books but for sheer story telling, Louis L’amour has no equal. Have tried reading other western writers but after L’amour, everything seems just dry. Can’t be done. The Sackett series is out of this world. Do you know of any other writer of the genre who is comparable. If you love wild west stuff as much as I do, there is a book by James E. Hitt that I read when i was 14, it comes very close. It’s called “Tennessee Smith”

     

Leave a Reply

 
