RSS

Five Online Resources for Writers

14 Feb

In November of 2009, while I was recovering from abdominal surgery and bored out of my tree, I wrote a novel in 10 days. It was the most fun EVER! Since then I’ve read everything I could find online about writing and publishing, and learned so much. (I may have also bought an obscene amount of books on writing craft, but that’s another topic).  I’ve written and revised two more stories, both infinitely better than my first effort, and just as much fun to write.

Here are five of my favorite online resources for writers.

Number Five: Nanowrimo – The biggest hurdle for many beginning writers is a simple but daunting one: finishing. (Not me, as much, but that’s just my obsessive personality at work.) What better incentive to finish your rough draft than the encouragement of thousands of people just like you? Check out National Novel Writing Month.

Number Four: Elizabeth Craig – Following Elizabeth Craig on Twitter is something that every beginning writer should do! She tracks down all the best blog posts for writers and tweets them throughout the day.  I’ve been able to read a lot of really useful blogs since I started following Elizabeth.

Number Three: Jennifer Crusie – Besides the fact that Jenny Crusie is my favorite author, her blog is funny, insightful, and full of excellent writer-ly tidbits. I’ve learned so much … laughed a lot too!

Number Two: Kristen Lamb – Her bestselling book “We Are Not Alone – A Writers Guide to Social Media” is very helpful for anyone hoping to navigate the current publishing world, and her blog is always educational and entertaining. From blogging basics to scene structure, Kristen covers an excellent variety of topics.

Number One: Storywonk – Taking Lani Diane Rich’s Revision course at Storywonk is without a doubt the most important thing I’ve done to improve my writing. After applying what I’d learned in Lani’s course, I had a full manuscript requested the FIRST TIME I submitted. In addition to the excellent classes Lani offers, she also does a daily free podcast for writers that is full of excellent information. Go. Listen. Learn.

Bonus Round – Be sure to check out the new community at Novel Publicity, a great place to network with other writers!

Any suggestions for other sites I should check out?

 
8 Comments

Posted by on February 14, 2011 in writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Five Online Resources for Writers

  1. Valerie Ormond

    February 14, 2011 at 9:30 am

    Thanks for sharing, Kendra! A few more in which you may have an interest are http://www.Goodreads.com, http://www.Writing.com,www.horse-books-pony-stories.com, and http://www.Bestsellerbound.com. I don’t see that you are a kidlit person, but if so, check out the News and Links page on my web site, and there are a few kid lit sites I like. Congrats on your success, fellow horse-lover. (Hug a horse today if you can!)

     
    • Kendra Gale

      February 14, 2011 at 11:06 am

      Thanks for the links Valerie! I’ll definitely take a look!

      I clicked on the link to http://www.greatbooksforhorselovers.com/ while I was visiting your blog, and I’ve already added a couple books to my Amazon wishlist!

      Thanks for stopping by … I try to remember to hug a horse every day. 😉

       
  2. Catana

    February 14, 2011 at 10:03 am

    Thanks for the links to Elizabeth Craig and the new community. I’ll second the importance of NaNoWriMo, especially for anyone who’s not quite sure whether they’re ready to dip their toe into novel writing. Of course, NaNo is more like an icy plunge, but it worked for me.

     
    • Kendra Gale

      February 14, 2011 at 11:09 am

      Hi Catana!

      I did Nano for the first time this year, and it was great! I wasn’t brave enough to get to any in-person meets this year, but it looks like fun … maybe next year!

      Thanks for stopping by!!

       
  3. jesswords10

    February 14, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    I did my own version of NaNoWriMo to get back in the groove of writing and I found it very useful. I also like the site write or die, which helps you crack out as many words in a short time just to get the ideas out. It’s been helpful when first designing a scene. I’ll check out these other tools you’ve recommended. Thank you!

     
    • Kendra Gale

      February 14, 2011 at 6:39 pm

      Hi Jess!

      I like Write or Die too – keeps me from clicking away every 3. 5 seconds to check my email or facebook!

      Thanks for your comment!

       
  4. Emlyn Chand

    February 16, 2011 at 9:40 am

    Hi Kendra!

    Thanks so much for the Novel Publicity shout-out. I’m glad that you’re enjoying the community. Now I’ve got to go find some more people to join 🙂

    Would you, by any chance, be interested in becoming a host blog for the Novel Publicity blog tour? We’re just getting started and have mad, crazy incentives: http://www.novelpublicity.com/tour

    Thanks,
    Emlyn

     
    • Kendra Gale

      February 16, 2011 at 10:04 am

      Hi Emlyn! I was just reading about the blog tour this morning … I’ll drop you an email!

       

Leave a Reply

 
