RSS

Writing. Why this is the most fun EVER.

04 Mar

For the past few months I’ve been busy with some projects. I revised two manuscripts, wrote a series of articles for our local horse club, started this blog, wrote query letters and synopsis’ … and while all those things are “writing”, it’s not the same thing as working on a first draft.

I’d been thinking lately that everything I read over the last two years was exactly right: writing is hard work.

And then, this week, I started working on a new first draft.

This. This is why I write.

There is nothing better than getting lost in the story, in the characters. I love seeing how they react, what they’re going to say next, the funny things they do. I know, I know, I’m supposed to be making those decisions, and I do … but not until the revision!

In my first draft I have a road map with the points of interest we absolutely have to hit along the way, the plot points that need to be there to carry the story. But the characters have a say in the the route. How we get there depends on them.

This isn’t work at all … this is fun and freeing, and it comes with a sense of accomplishment as I watch the word count creep higher and higher. I love the feeling of being wrapped up in my story, when I can’t wait to get back to my computer, type in every spare moment and carry my netbook with me everywhere “just in case” I’ll have time to write.

If you’re looking for me, chances are I’ll be typing away, the dog on my lap and a smile on my face.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 4, 2011 in writing

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Writing. Why this is the most fun EVER.

  1. Patricia

    March 4, 2011 at 8:33 am

    Yeah. That’s exactly how it is! I work the same way. Have fun!

     
  2. Isabella Louise Anderson

    March 4, 2011 at 8:34 am

    Great blog post! I feel the same way. Even when I’m having a “bad” writing day, I still love it…and find myself not being able to remove myself from the computer.

    Happy Friday! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
